West Tennessee Delta Heritage Center
121 Sunny Hill Cove
Open 9 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through Saturday, and Sunday 1 to 5 p.m.

The West Tennessee Delta Heritage Center celebrates the unique heritage of the region. Cotton is king is Haywood County, and for good reason: Haywood County is the largest cotton-producing county in Tennessee. This rich agricultural heritage is celebrated at the West Tennessee Delta Heritage Center. The center offers visitors a unique glimpse into the heritage and culture of Brownsville, Haywood County, and all of West Tennessee and includes the Flagg Grove School – where legendary singer Tina Turner attended grade school.

College Hill Historic District
West of downtown

Located west of Brownsville’s downtown commercial area, the College Hill Historic District was listed in the National Register in1980. This district contains a unique collection of architectural residences built from the mid-1800s through the 1930s. These homes were designed in grand style and many were built for several of Haywood County’s wealthy merchants, landowners and farmers. Many of the residents of the district included individuals who played a significant role in the development of Brownsville.

A majority of the dwellings located in the historic district were built between 1840 and 1930. These dwellings display a wide array of architectural styles including Greek revival, Gothic Revival, Italianate, Queen Anne, Folk Victorian, Colonial Revival, Tudor Revival, and Craftsman. These styles were representative of popular building trends throughout West Tennessee from 1820 to 1930.  With the boundary increase in 2015 the period of significance extends to 1960.  It now includes other popular architectural styles such as Minimal Traditional and Ranch.

The Haywood County Museum
127 N. Grand Ave., College Hill Center

Formerly Haywood High School and before that the Brownsville Baptist Female College, the museum houses not only historical treasures of the community, but the Haywood County Sports Museum and a valuable and unique Abraham Lincoln collection. It is located in the city’s historic district at the College Hill Complex.

The Dunbar-Carver Museum
709 East Jefferson Street

The museum tells the story of African American life in Haywood County through portrayal of events associated with the 100 plus year existence of the Dunbar-Haywood County Training-Carver High School.

Main Street Brownsville
1 N. Washington Ave.

The Main Street program is devoted to preservation, promotion, & prosperity in the historic town square and core business district of Brownsville, Haywood County, Tennessee.  To ask questions about how our program can assist you or your business, contact Executive Director, Mary Ann Sharpe, at (731)277-9320 or email her at ma.sharpe@outloook.com.

Jefferson Street Commercial Historic District
Downtown Jefferson St.

The Jefferson Street Commercial Historic District is located east of the downtown commercial area in Brownsville. The district emerged in the early 1900s as the center for the city’s African American community. While African Americans could shop in the white-owned businesses on the court square, they were often discriminated against. With the rise of the city’s African American middle-class, several businesses specifically for the black population evolved along Jefferson Street.  Businesses within this district consisted of restaurants and pool halls, meeting spaces, barber shops, salons, and grocery stores. Jefferson Street and Jackson Avenue became the popular entertainment spot for teenage students due to its close proximity to Carver High School down the street. Eventually desegregation occurred opening up more opportunities for the African American community.

The North Washington Residential Historic District
North of downtown on Washington St.

The North Washington Residential Historic District of Brownsville contains a century old collection of architectural styles to include: Greek Revival, Gothic Revival, Italianate, Folk Victorian, Queen Anne, Folk Vernacular, Neoclassical, Colonial Revival, Tudor Revival, Craftsman, International, Minimal Traditional, and Ranch. This variety in styles represents the popular building trends from the time of West Tennessee’s settlement to the mid-20th century.

Haywood County prospered during its first century of settlement due primarily to the development of agricultural business and services throughout the area. Many of the individuals involved is this development were prominent Brownsville merchants, doctors, lawyers and farmers all of whom built homes and lived within and around the North Washington Residential Historic District.

The Dunbar-Carver Residential Historic District
Southeast of downtown

The Dunbar-Carver Residential Historic District is located southeast of the downtown commercial area in Brownsville.  Within this boundary is the site of the former Dunbar School and Carver High School. The history of the Dunbar-Carver High School extends from 1866 through 1970 and is a significant property in the history of African American education in Haywood County. Adjacent to the Dunbar-Carver School site, are several residences that were home to notable professors and principals at the Haywood County Training School or Carver High School.  Residents within the neighborhood also included commercial business owners and ministers.

A majority of dwellings in the neighborhood were built between 1910 and 1964. These properties are recognized for their architectural styles as well as their original owners. Notable styles within the district include Queen Anne, Folk Vernacular, Craftsman, Minimal Traditional and Ranch. While a number of the dwellings have been altered over the years the majority retain sufficient integrity representative of the early 20th century African American heritage of this section of Brownsville. The district is the largest and most significant collection of dwellings associated with the African American community in Brownsville.

Green Frog Village
Alamo, Tennessee (Open Year Round)

Dr. John Freeman, retired doctor and missionary, began Green Frog Village 1991. He has always loved history and architecture — in fact, he built his own log-cabin home. As a missionary in Thailand for 10 years, his love for history only grew as he collected Thai artifacts. When he and his wife, Nancy, moved back to the United States, he continued his love for history and architecture by starting Green Frog. He collected the other numerous buildings and historical artifacts over time from various states, ranging from Tennessee to South Dakota to Alabama.

The centerpiece of the village is Cotton Museum of the South and the Eatman Gin. This four-stand Continental cotton gin was restored by a dedicated group of volunteers after being moved to the historic village from Mantua, Ala. The gin produced its last bale in 1957, using equipment manufactured in 1915. Originally powered by a steam engine, the gin now displays a 1920 Fairbanks diesel engine donated by Tom Wade from his family gin in Como, Tenn. A gin was an essential part of a cotton farmer’s life during the early 1900s because it weighed, ginned (removed the seeds), and baled cotton.

The General Store was another common accompaniment to a 1900s-era gin. Though the Eatmans additionally donated their country store from Mantua, there were not enough resources to transport the building the substantial 250 miles to Green Frog. However, Miller Petty donated enough lumber to frame the general store. It was modeled after the Eatmans’ store and most of the furniture was donated by the Eatmans.